First Mission Period 1566 - 1587
Home - Missions - History - Missionaries - Indians - Links
This village was another site designated by Menéndez de Avilés in 1567 where a blockhouse was to be erected that was a visita by the turn of the century. In 1567 it was the village of a Chief Soloy who was distinct from Chief Seloy whose village Menéndez had appropriated as the first site of St. Augustine. Soloy was to have a garrison similar in size to that of Palican. The visita named Soloy was served from Nombre de Dios and two leagues from that mission. It appears to have been to the north of Nombre de Dios.
< Previous - Next >
REFERENCES Dr. John H. Hann
"Summary Guide to Spanish Florida Missions and Vistas with Churches in the Sixteenth and Seventeenth Centuries"
© Copyright. John P. Walsh. April 21, 2002